Soup

Creamy Roasted Cauliflower Soup

2016-02-15 17.41.32

I decided to try  this recipe over at Two Peas & Their Pod today when a friend posted a link for it on Facebook. I did however make some changes/additions.  Cauliflower is a favorite of mine and I’ve never tried it as the main ingredient in a soup. Roasting the cauliflower intrigued me as I absolutely love roasting cauliflower as a side dish. I had just about everything I needed to make it except for the cauliflower, so I sent my husband to the store to get me some. I really enjoy soups and this one is a nice addition to our rotation as it is more on the healthier side.  I do think the next time I make it I will add some shredded chicken as our family likes meat in our soup.  If you are not a fan of almond milk you can use cows milk instead, but I thought the almond milk brought a good flavor to the soup that I wasn’t used to.  I hope you enjoy this soup as much as we did and make sure you roast that cauliflower first it really makes a difference. Enjoy!

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 large head of cauliflower, chopped in small pieces
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 8oz mushrooms, chopped
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour (you could use all-purpose)
  • 1 (32 ounce) box low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 1/4 cups Almondmilk Unsweetened Original
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
  • Salt and black pepper, to taste

Directions:

Preheat the over @ 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray. Coat the cauliflower and garlic with olive oil and salt and pepper. Spread it out on the pan and bake it for 25 minutes, until the cauliflower is tender.2016-02-15 16.15.24

While the cauliflower is cooking melt the butter in a pot over medium heat, add the onion and sauté for about 5 minutes.2016-02-15 16.28.31 Next add the mushrooms, carrots, and celery and sauté another 7-10 minutes. 2016-02-15 21.56.57

 Chop the roasted garlic cloves. Add the garlic, roasted cauliflower, bay leaf, and thyme to the pot. Sprinkle flour over vegetables and stir. 2016-02-15 16.47.49

Stir until the flour is mixed well.2016-02-15 16.46.22

Pour in the chicken broth and simmer for 10 minutes.2016-02-15 16.50.03

Stir in the milk, mozzarella cheese, and cheddar cheese. Stir until cheese is melted and soup is creamy. Season with salt and black pepper, to taste.2016-02-15 17.40.23

 If you like cauliflower like I do, then this soup is for you.

Leave a Reply

