Dinner

Caribbean Jerk Pork Tostadas

 

These Caribbean Jerk Pork Tostadas are amazing and a big hit in our house.2016-02-16 17.36.44

I originally found this recipe on Pinterest and that lead me to Shugary Sweets. This recipe is so good I really didn’t change anything. I did use Caribbean Jerk seasoning because that is what I have in my spice cabinet right now, but you can also use Jamaican Jerk.  The nice thing about these little guys is that you put the meat in the crockpot and forget about them all day, however you wont forget about them because your house will smell wonderful, reminding you how much you can’t wait for dinner.  You can also add a variety of toppings. In our house we all like different things on them. I think our favorite topping is this pico de gallo. The pork is a little spicy, but my 3 year old can handle it, and it gives it good flavor. In my pictures you will see a larger pork butt, but I usually use pork tenderloins as they shred much better and have less fat to deal with. I only used the butt because that is what I had in the fridge.  My last suggestion is when it comes to shredding the pork use an electric mixer. I use to shred meat by hand until I read a tip somewhere about using a mixer and I will never do it any other way again.  This really is a great and easy meal! Warning, you might spot one of my cute helpers in a picture today.

Ingredients:

2016-02-16 10.07.01

  • pork tenderloins (2-3 pounds)
  • 2 cup low sodium beef broth
  • 1 orange, juiced
  • 3 Tbsp. Caribbean Jerk seasoning
  • corn tortillas
  • shredded mozzarella cheese (or any kind you like)

Extra toppings:

  • pico de gallo (here’s a link to my pico de gallo recipe)
  • sour cream
  • taco sauce
  • guacamole
  • lettuce

Directions:

Mix together the beef broth, juice from the orange, and Caribbean Jerk seasoning.

Add it to your crockpot and put the pork in. Heat on low for 6-10 hours.2016-02-16 10.15.26

Use an electric mixer to shred the pork, return the shredded pork to the crockpot with the juices. Stir to combine.2016-02-16 16.51.15

Bake your corn tortillas in the oven at 400 degrees for 10-12 minutes, flipping them half way through.  Once the tortillas are done you can start assembling them with pork, and the rest of your toppings of choice. 2016-02-16 17.36.29

2 thoughts on “Caribbean Jerk Pork Tostadas

Leave a Reply

