Breakfast

Baked Oatmeal

 

12803115_10153744282980865_6392418377886910908_n

I was never a fan of oatmeal for breakfast until I found this recipe. You can find the original recipe at All In Good Taste. I was a little reluctant to try it given my dislike for oatmeal, but I’m so glad I did. The texture and taste of baked oatmeal is so much better then the old mushy oatmeal I was used to. The berries not only make it a beautiful looking breakfast, but they add a nice sweetness to the oatmeal. My 3 year old, who is my pickiest eater even ate this the next day left over. I think this is a nice breakfast to make for company in the morning. Not only is it healthy, but it tastes oh so good!  You can add any fruit you want, this time I used raspberries, blueberries, and strawberries. Raspberries are my personal favorite, but they’re all good.  If you are on the fence about oatmeal, like I was, or  if you already like it, try this baked oatmeal, I think you’ll be glad you did.2016-02-27 09.23.57

Ingredients:2016-02-27 06.55.05

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup of light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1/2 blueberries
  • 1/4 strawberries, chopped
  • 1/2 dark chocolate chips
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp. vanilla
  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 Tbsp. light brown sugar for top

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and spray a 9X13 backing pan with cooking spray. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, half the berries, and half the chocolate chips. In another bowl mix together the milk, egg, vanilla, and butter. Add the oat mixture to the pan and place the rest of the berries and chocolate chips on top.  Add the banana slices on the top then pour the milk mixture over everything. You can shake the pan a little to make sure the milk goes through the oat mixture. 2016-02-27 07.10.07

Bake for 40 minutes until the top is golden brown. I usually add a Tbsp. of brown sugar over the top and then broil for 5 minutes more. Let it cool a few minutes and cut into pieces to serve.2016-02-27 07.54.08

Enjoy with a cup of coffee.2016-02-27 09.23.39

 

One thought on “Baked Oatmeal

  1. I used to make this all the time when I was home for summers in college. I would even eat it cold, its still good! Ha! Definitely beats the apple cinnamon oatmeal I’d make in my dorm room every morning. Gross!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

