Cheesecake · Dessert

Salted Caramel Cheesecake

2016-03-10 08.02.22

What I thought was going to be a post about making a beautiful cheesecake for a friend has turned into an adventure – partially ruining one cake, making another, and having my dates mixed up when I thought a friend needed a cheesecake this weekend, it turned out to be next weekend. Grab a cup of coffee or a glass of wine because this story might be long. My friend sent me a note the other day asking me to make her a cheesecake for her family’s early Easter celebration. I was so excited about this because I haven’t had the opportunity to blog a cheesecake yet. I really didn’t want to make a whole cheesecake for just my husband and myself. Now I don’t doubt we could eat it all, but the scale would not be happy. She requested a salted caramel cheesecake, which was a new flavor for me.  I found a recipe that looked and sounded amazing on Pinterest. The day came to make the cheesecake and everything was going great. I took it out of the oven and it looked wonderful.  This is were things turned south. I was supposed to add the caramel to the top of the cake once it completely cooled, but I rushed it. I also released the pan too early and all of a sudden the cake started cracking all over.  So when it says cool completely, follow the instructions and don’t rush it like I did. You can see in this picture what I am talking about.2016-03-09 13.33.38

It wasn’t pretty. I can’t serve a cheesecake to a friend who offers to pay you something that looks like that. I called my husband and asked him to bring me home some more cream cheese so I could make a new cheesecake. I decided to make a whole different cheesecake because the first one was a little time consuming and I had been in the kitchen all morning.

I made the 2nd cheesecake and it turned out great. I sent my friend a message the next morning to make sure she was going to pick it up that same morning and she quickly called me confused. She had asked for the cheesecake for next weekend not this one coming up. I definitely didn’t want two cheesecakes in my house, so I suggested she come get it anyway to share with her family this weekend and I would make her a new one next weekend as well. She kindly said she would freeze it, so that I didn’t have to make another one in a week.

Now back to the first cheesecake. My husband and I tried it. I was secretly hoping it would be terrible. But guess what, it was amazingly good. It was so good I think I might make it for my family Easter dinner.  Now I know what to do differently. Next time it will not only be amazing in taste, but also presentation. So look for that blog soon.

I thank my friend for letting me make her and her family cheesecakes. I hope they continue to let me do so in the future even if I make them on the wrong day.  Every good cook has there off days, right? Now it’s time for that glass of wine and the recipe you’re here for.2016-03-09 16.48.02

Here is the recipe for the Salted Caramel Cheesecake that turned out pretty enough to blog. 2016-03-10 06.42.56

Ingredients: Crust

  • 1.5 cups of Oreos, crushed
  • 3 Tbsp. sugar
  • 3 Tbsps. butter, melted

Directions: Crust

Crush the Oreo cookies in a electric chopper or put Oreos in a zip lock back and crush them with a spoon or rolling pin. In a bowl, mix the cookie crumbs with the sugar. Melt the butter and mix it well into the cookie crumbs.  Preheat oven to 325.  Spray a 9 inch spring form pan and press the cookie crumbs into the bottom of the pan. Bake the crust for 10 minutes.2016-03-09 15.56.58

Ingredients: Caramel Sauce

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsps. water
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 4 Tbsps. unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt

Directions: Caramel Sauce

In a sauce pan on high heat, add the sugar and water. You will cook the sugar on high heat until it becomes a liquid and amber brown in color. The sugar will become a white liquid first, then all the water will evaporate but will quickly melt and turn into an amber liquid. Make sure you smash all the clumps out. Once you reach your desired color remove from heat. It will burn fast so don’t let it get too dark in color. Add the butter. Wait a couple minutes and add the cream. Add the salt and stir. Pour the caramel sauce into a glass jar. It will thicken up as it cools.

Ingredients: Filling 

  • 2 pounds of Philadelphia Cream Cheese (4, 8oz. packages)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup of caramel sauce (You can use my homemade recipe above, which you would need to double or you can use a store bought caramel sauce. You will need another cup to put on top of the cheesecake the next morning.)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk

Directions: Filling

You want to make sure your cream cheese and eggs are at room temperature. In a mixing bowl with an electric mixer, mix the cream cheese and sugar until creamy. Add the vanilla and mix 45 more seconds. Add the caramel sauce and mix for a minute more. Scrape sides and mix 30 more seconds – you don’t want to over mix. Add the eggs and mix until combined, scrape sides and mix 30 more seconds. Over-mixing can cause your cheesecake to crack.

Turn the oven down to 300. Place your cheesecake on the middle rack and bake for 55-60 minutes. If the cheesecake starts to get brown, place a sheet of tin foil over the top or move it down to a lower rack.  When done the middle of the cheesecake should slightly jiggle when you tap the side of the pan with a knife. Turn the heat off and slightly open the door of your oven, let the cheesecake sit in there for an hour to cool. After that hour place the cheesecake on a wire rack and let cool completely. Refrigerate over night. The next morning add 1 cup of completely cooled caramel sauce to the top.( I refrigerated mine over night and warmed it up for 30 seconds before putting it on the top. I also added chocolate shavings to the top.)2016-03-10 08.02.22

I love how pretty this cheesecake looks!

P.S. I just talk to my friend and she snuck a piece before freezing it. She says it’s off the charts good!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

