Craft

Wine Cork Letters

As you can tell this isn’t my usual food blog. I just love these wine cork letters so much I decided I wanted to blog about them. So now I am adding a craft section to Fivethumbsup! Almost a year ago I made myself a letter S out of wine corks. 2016-04-10 20.44.42I have it sitting on the mantle above our fire place and I love it!  Since then I have made a small K for my mom2015-11-06 21.05.37 Today I made a big M for my sister. My sister has vaulted ceilings in her kitchen and plans to put it above her cabinets, which I think will look neat!  My mom also put her small K above her kitchen cabinets as well. 2016-04-10 19.39.38

I know you’re probably thinking, wow Jill drinks a lot of wine!, but my sister-in-law who works at a restaurant has the bar collect them for me. I think it would take me a really long time to save up all the corks I need, but it could be fun trying.2016-04-10 19.39.54

It doesn’t take a whole lot of supplies to make these letters. All you need is a board to glue the corks on. I buy mine from Hobby Lobby. Walmart has small ones, but not these nice big ones I like.

Supplies:

  • About 250 wine corks give or take.
  • Letter board (Hobby Lobby)
  • Glue gun
  • Glue sticks
  • A glass of wine to drink!

2016-04-10 14.26.31

Directions:

The directions are pretty easy. Plug in your glue gun and let it heat up. Once the glue gun is ready get your first cork. Put glue on the bottom of the cork and stick it to the board. Repeat this until the board is full. You might want to place a few corks out to make sure you place them exactly how you want them before you put the glue on.2016-04-10 17.23.00 If your corks are different lengths, you can either put them on that way, or you can cut them like I did, with a knife. I only had to do that with a few.

Once you have all the corks on securely, display it in that perfect spot.2016-04-10 20.44.51

Such a fun project and they really look nice.

 

Leave a Reply

