Dinner

Honey Soy Chicken Legs

2016-04-12 17.25.59

This recipe gets a huge five thumps up at our house. My kids eat these like they haven’t eaten for days. In fact my 8 year old screamed in excitement when I told her what was for supper tonight. My 3 year old who barely eats, ate 3 of them. These legs are so moist and flavorful you will be going back for more too.

I found the original recipe a few years ago from a blog called She Wears Many Hats. The first few times I made them I used chicken thighs, which work well, but now I use chicken legs because it’s easier for the kids to eat. I’ve tried many ways to cook and eat chicken legs over the years and this one is my favorite.

One of the key factors to the flavor of these legs is the marinade. You will want to let the chicken sit in the marinade in the refrigerator for as long as you can. Today I let them sit for 4 hours, but I usually I like to let them sit overnight. When you are ready to bake the chicken, you will then pour the marinade over the top to bake them in. When they come out of the oven the meat will be practically falling off of the bone.

So what are you waiting for, head to the store and get these ingredients. You won’t be sorry!

Ingredients:2016-04-12 12.24.15

  • 12-15 chicken legs
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 5 Tbsp. honey
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a bowl mix together the olive oil, soy sauce, honey, garlic, ginger, and salt. 2016-04-12 12.34.15

Place the chicken in a zip lock bag. Add the mixture to the bag, making sure to coat each piece of chicken. Place in the refrigerator. You will want to flip the bag over every hour or so.2016-04-12 12.50.01

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Place the chicken legs in a baking dish. Add the marinade to the dish. Place the dish in the oven and cook for 50-60 minutes. After 30 minutes turn the legs over and cook 30 more minutes. 2016-04-12 17.25.59I hope you enjoy these legs as much as we do!

2016-04-12 17.40.04

2 thoughts on “Honey Soy Chicken Legs

Leave a Reply

