Dinner · Uncategorized

Chicken Taquitos

2016-04-07 17.13.49 - Copy20160418_170956I love taquitos, but I don’t love the price of a box of frozen taquitos or the questionable ingredients. I think I had my first taquito about 9 years ago when we lived in El Paso, TX. I always bought the boxed version until about a year ago when I came upon this recipe at Made From Pinterest and I haven’t purchased a box of taquitos since. I make these taquitos as a whole meal for the family, but I’ve also made them as an appetizer for parties.

This recipe makes about 24 taquitos. Any that I don’t use the same day, I freeze and just get out when needed. My kids eat them up fast, so they don’t last long in our house. For my son’s birthday party I made a ton of them in advance and froze them until the day of the party. They turned out just as good as when made the same day.

In this blog I will share a few tricks with you that have made the preparation a little easier. The first has to do with shredding the chicken and the second on how to fill the taquitos without them falling apart. These tips are key to your happiness with this recipe!

If you’re a taquito lover like me try these out and stop buying them from the store, these are much better!

Ingredients:2016-04-07 11.51.49

  • 24 corn tortillas
  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • cheddar cheese or colby jack
  • Other optional toppings: salsa, pico de gallo, sour cream, lettuce, or your favorite topping.

Directions:

In a mixing bowl add the cream cheese, garlic powder, chili powder, ground cumin, salt and pepper, and water. Mix with an electric mixer. Mix until combined and smooth.

Put half the mixture on the bottom of the crock pot. 2016-04-07 12.01.42Place the chicken breast over the cream cheese mixture.2016-04-07 12.02.08Place the remaining cream cheese mixture over the chicken  breasts. 2016-04-07 12.03.32

Add some frozen corn.2016-04-07 15.42.58 - CopyCook on high for 4 hours or low for 6-7 hours.

Now for the first tip. Place the chicken in a mixing bowl. With an electric mixer, shred the chicken. This is so much faster than doing it by hand. Place the shredded chicken back in the crock pot. Salt and pepper if needed.2016-04-07 16.05.03 - Copy

Now for some more tips on how to fill the tortillas without them breaking. I have a little system as you can see below.

Spray a skillet with some non stick spray. Over medium heat place about 3 tortillas on the skillet.2016-04-07 16.10.32 - Copy Turn the tortillas over after a minute. Place some cheese on the tortillas. 2016-04-07 16.12.17 - CopyOnce the cheese is melted move to a plate and add a spoon full of the chicken mixture.2016-04-07 16.13.50 - Copy

Roll it up and place it in a greased baking dish.2016-04-07 16.14.29 - Copy

Repeat until all the taquitos are filled and rolled. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Tortillas should be slightly brown and the cheese melted.20160418_170931

Top with your favorite topping and enjoy!20160418_170956

I love this homemade salsa on top of mine.

One thought on “Chicken Taquitos

Leave a Reply

