Cheesecake · Dessert · Uncategorized

Salted Caramel Cappuccino Cheesecake

2016-05-01 19.43.41I love making cheesecakes! This past Saturday I had a Mary Kay, cheesecake and wine party. I was so excited about this because I had an excuse to make 2 cheesecakes and blog about them as well. The first one I made was a Salted Caramel Cappuccino Cheesecake. I found this recipe on a Taste of Homes blog. I love all things coffee flavored, so I was really looking forward to this cheesecake. The other Cheesecake I made was a mixed berry, I will be blogging that one soon.  Both cheesecakes were amazing! This cappuccino one was probably the big hit of the day. Now I have to share that my husband told me the night before I made it that he didn’t think it was going to be very good, but I am happy to say that when he tried it he said it was restaurant quality and that he was wrong. My guests at the party thought it was pretty darn good too. If you are a coffee lover, then you will love this  cheesecake and I suggest you try it! 2016-04-29 20.52.22

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 1 box of chocolate teddy grahams (I used about 9oz of a 10oz box)
  • 1 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbsp. of instant coffee
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup of melted butter

Filling

  • 3 8 oz. packages of Philadelphia Cram Cheese (softened)
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • 1/4 cup Kahlua
  • 2 Tbsp. of instant coffee
  • 2 Tbsp. of flour
  • 4 eggs

Topping

  • 1/2 cup of salted caramel sauce. You can use store bought or you can make it yourself, I did both. You can find the homemade caramel sauce I use in this recipe for Salted Caramel Cheesecake.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease a 9-in.springform pan and set aside.
  2. Add the first 5 ingredients into a ford processer and pulse until  fine crumbs form. Add the melted butter pulsing until combined. Press the mixture in to the bottom of the pan and 2 in. up the side of the pan.(I find using a glass to press the mixture works the best to get it up the sides evenly.)2016-04-29 07.42.20
  3. In a large mixing bowl beat the cream cheese and brown sugar until smooth. 2016-04-29 07.59.53
  4. Beat in sour cream, Kahlua, flour and instant coffee.2016-04-29 08.04.32
  5. Beat in eggs on low one at a time just until blended. You don’t want to over mix.2016-04-29 08.08.52
  6. Pour mixture into the crust.2016-04-29 08.11.57
  7. Put the cheesecake in the oven with a water bath. Put a pan with water in the oven on the shelf under the cheesecake. This will help the cheesecake bake evenly and help prevent cracks. Some people put the pan right in the water, but I have had issues with the crust getting soggy and now just put the water a rack lower or put it on a pan that has a cover with slits on it. See picture below. If you decide to put the pan right in the water, make sure you line the bottom of the pan with heavy duty tin foil.2016-04-29 08.12.40
  8. Bake 55-65 minutes or until center is just set and top appears dull. The center will slightly jiggle like jello. Shut off the oven and let the cheesecake sit in the oven for an hour. Then take it out and let it completely cool on a wire rack. 2016-04-29 10.13.48
  9. Once cooled put in the refrigerator overnight.
  10. An hour before serving pour the salted caramel on top and put back in the refrigerator until ready to serve.2016-04-29 20.32.59
  11. Cut into individual pieces and drizzle remaining caramel sauce over the top of each piece.2016-05-01 19.44.03

This cheesecake is so delicious you will be wanting to go back for more.

 

One thought on “Salted Caramel Cappuccino Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

