Dessert

Fourth of July Skittle Bark

2016-06-02 10.16.26Looking for a cute new dessert to take to a Fourth of July party? I have the dessert for you! I saw these red, white, and blue Skittles at Walmart awhile back and I had to buy them with the intent to make a new and different dessert. My daughter loves sweet candy rather than chocolate so I thought I would make something she would like and please the chocolate lovers in my family as well. I looked in my pantry and saw a block of Ambrosia Alabaster White Confectionery Coating and instantly thought of bark. Now I struggled with whether Skittles and white chocolate would go together, but I decided it was worth the try. And I added in a few Oreos I had left over from a previous cheesecake recipe and some pretzels. All of these sounded like a good combination. To make it a little more festive I added some blue and red sprinkles as well.2016-06-02 10.15.01

If you don’t have a block of white chocolate, a bag of white chocolate chips would work too. The better the chocolate the better the taste. I would also double the amount of white chocolate I used to make more the next time. This was just a trial run so I didn’t want to make too much.

My daughter, the candy lover, loved this bark and the rest of us enjoyed it as well. I will make this again for our 4th of July celebration at the lake this year.

 

Ingredients:2016-06-02 09.22.44.jpg

  • 1 – 4lb or more block of white chocolate or 1 bag of white chocolate chips
  • 2 handfuls of coarsely chopped pretzel sticks
  • 5 Oreos coarsely chopped
  • 3/4 cup of red, white, and blue Skittles
  • red and blue sprinkles

Directions:

  1. Spray a baking pan with pam, line with parchment paper.
  2. Melt chocolate for 1 minute, stir. Melt again in 30 second intervals until chocolate is melted and smooth.
  3. Pour the melted chocolate on the baking sheet and spread evenly.
  4. Add red and blue sprinkles.2016-06-02 09.39.55
  5. Add the pretzels.2016-06-02 09.40.46
  6. Add the Skittles.2016-06-02 09.41.30
  7. Add the Oreos.2016-06-02 09.43.09
  8. Top with a little more red and blue sprinkle.
  9. Let set on the counter. I put it in the fridge and that made the skittles harden. However the longer it sat out the Skittles softened up.
  10. Break into pieces and serve.

2016-06-02 10.16.26

Here is my daughter on her 2nd piece!2016-06-02 10.17.00

I hope you try this recipe out. Let me know what you think.

 

2 thoughts on “Fourth of July Skittle Bark

Leave a Reply

